The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, 1874-1965 [BOX SET EDITION]

Regular price $125.00

Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill by William Manchester & Paul Reid
3 Volume Box Set



Volume 1: Visions of Glory, 1874-1932 by William Manchester
Volume 2: Alone, 1932-1940 by William Manchester
Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 by William Manchester & Paul Reid

8vo. pp. 3008. hardcover boards. dw. [Boston: Little Brown & Company, 2012].

New in publisher's shrink wrap.

ISBN-10: 0316227781 / ISBN-13: 9780316227780


~Makes for a great gift for any Churchill collector, reader, or scholar~

Universally acclaimed for their compelling narrative, their fresh insights, and their objective renderings of Winston Churchill's life, The Last Lion trilogy presents a revelatory and unparalleled portrait of this brilliant, flawed, and dynamic adventurer, aristocrat, soldier, and statesman.

Born at the end of the 19th century when Imperial Britain still stood at the splendid pinnacle of her power, Churchill would witness the shift a few years later as the Empire hovered on the brink of a catastrophic new era. One of the greatest wartime leaders of our time, he would go on to stand alone, politically isolated in Parliament, as he took the lead in warning of the growing Nazi threat, and would lead Britain to victory against Nazi Germany and the Axis powers in World War II.

Now, celebrated historian William Manchester's landmark biographies are collected together for the first time, along with the eagerly anticipated final installment Churchill's last years in power. More than thirty years in the making, The Last Lion is the definitive work on this remarkable man whose courageous vision guided the destiny of a nation during darkly troubled times-and who looms as one of the greatest figures of our century.